Contact us

2017 World Press Photo of the Year

A powerful image of the assassination of Russia’s ambassador to Turkey has earned AP’s Burhan Ozbilici the 2017 World Press Photo of the Year award, as well as first prize in the Spot News—Stories category.

See the photo
In this July 22, 2016 photo, children mimic their swimming stroke form during a swim class at a private pool, in the Port-au-Prince neighborhood Carrefour, Haiti. Hatian swimmer Frantz Mike Itelord Dorsainvil who only began to swim competitively six years ago is arguably the most unlikely Olympian on Haiti’s small team. (AP Photo/Dieu Nalio Chery)

2016 Atlanta Photojournalism Awards

General News Singles 
Dar Yasin (Second Place)
Emilio Morenatti (Honorable Mention)
Daniel Ochoa de Olza (Honorable Mention)

Spot News Singles
Ben Curtis (Honorable Mention)

Feature Singles
Daniel Ochoa de Olza (First Place)
Daniel Ochoa de Olza (Second Place)
Ebrahim Noroozi (Honorable Mention)
Muhammed Muheisen (Honorable Mention)

Sports Feature Singles
Maye-E Wong (Second Place)
Dieu Nalio Chery (Honorable Mention)

Sports Action Singles
Mark J. Terrill (Honorable Mention)

Elections Singles
Mark J. Terrill (Honorable Mention)

Olympics Singles
Maye-E Wong (Third Place)
Jae C. Hong (Honorable Mention)

Sports Picture Story
David Goldman (First Place)

Chris Hondros Memorial International News Story
Dieu Nalio Chery (Second Place)
Ben Curtis (Third Place)

News Picture Story
Felipe Dana (Second Place)
Petros Giannakouris (Third Place)
David Goldman (Honorable Mention)

Afghan migrants disembark safely from their frail boat in bad weather on the Greek island of Lesbos after crossing the Aegean see from Turkey, Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2015. Greece’s government says it is preparing a rent-assistance program to cope with a growing number of refugees, who face the oncoming winter and mounting resistance in Europe. (AP Photo/Santi Palacios)

2016 Pictures of the Year International

Spot News Single
Peter Dejong (Second Place)

General News Single
Jerome Delay (Third Place)

Exodus Single
Petros Giannakouris (Award of Excellence)

Sports Feature Single 
Gregory Bull (Award of Excellence)

Portrait Series
Felipe Dana (Award of Excellence)

Sports Picture Story
Daniel Ochoa de Olza (Award of Excellence)

News Picture Story
Santi Palacios (Award of Excellence)

From the AP Images Spotlight blog


All contents © copyright 2017 Associated Press.
All rights reserved.